My Favorite Fabulous Fashion Quotes

I love writing about fashion happenings, new styles, and beauty, but I also love reading about these things too. It’s amazing how much fashion-centric literature there is out there, both in personal memoirs and in classic novels and stories. Here are some fabulous fashion quotes from myriad authors, entertainers, and fashionistas:

“Vain trifles as they seem, clothes have, they say, more important offices than to merely keep us warm. They change our view of the world and the world’s view of us.” – Virginia Woolf, Orlando

“‘I’m sure they didn’t notice anything but you. You should wear flames more often,’ he says. ‘They suit you.’” – Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

fashion quotes

“Boys say they don’t mind how you get your hair done. But then they leave you for someone with really great standard girl hair and the next thing you know you’re alone with a masculine crop crying into your granola.” – Alexa Chung, It

“My attitude is if fashion says it’s forbidden, I’m going to do it.” – Michael Jackson, Moonwalk

“Being perfectly well-dressed gives one a tranquility that no religion can bestow.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson, The Essential Writings of Ralph Waldo Emerson

“She wore tight corsets to give her a teen waist – I helped her lace them up – but they had the effect of causing her to faint. Mom called it the vapors and said it was a sign of her high breeding and delicate nature. I thought it was a sign that the corset made it hard to breathe.” – Jeannette Walls, Half Broke Horses

fashion quotes

“This was the first time since I’d started working there that I hadn’t received a look of all-out disgust or, at the very least, a snarky comment, and all it had taken was a SWAT team of New York fashion editors, a collection of Parisian hair and makeup stylists, and a hefty selection of the world’s finest and most expensive clothing.” – Lauren Weisberger, The Devil Wears Prada

“I like my money right where I can see it…hanging in my closet.” – Candace Bushnell, Sex and the City

“Fashion is what one wears oneself. What is unfashionable is what other people wear.” – Oscar Wilde, An Ideal Husband

What are your favorite quotes about fashion and culture?

Leave a Reply

